The Simpsons image

The Simpsons

17 December, 1989
The Simpsons

The Simpsons is an American adult animated sitcom created by Matt Groening for the Fox Broadcasting Company. The series is a satirical depiction of American life, epitomized by the Simpson family, which consists of Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, and Maggie. The show is set in the fictional town of Springfield and parodies American culture and society, television, and the human condition. The family was conceived by Groening shortly before a solicitation for a series of animated shorts with producer James L. Brooks. He created a dysfunctional family and named the characters after his own family members, substituting Bart for his own name; he thought Simpson was a funny name in that it sounded similar to "simpleton". The shorts became a part of The Tracey Ullman Show on April 19, 1987. After three seasons, the sketch was developed into a half-hour prime time show and became Fox's first series to land in the Top 30 ratings in a season.

Genre Animated sitcom
Created by Matt Groening
Developed by James L. Brooks, Matt Groening, Sam Simon
Voices of Dan Castellaneta, Julie Kavner, Nancy Cartwright, Yeardley Smith, Hank Azaria, Harry Shearer, (Complete list)
Theme music composer Danny Elfman
Opening theme "The Simpsons Theme"
Composer(s) Richard Gibbs (1989–1990), Alf Clausen (1990–2017), Bleeding Fingers Music (2017–present)
Country of origin United States
Original language(s) English
No. of seasons 32
No. of episodes 706
Running time 21–24 minutes
Production company(s) Gracie Films, 20th Television (seasons 1–32), 20th Television Animation (season 33–present)
Distributor 20th Television (1989–2020), Disney–ABC Domestic Television (2020–present)
Original network Fox
Picture format SDTV 480i (1989–2009), HDTV 720p/1080i (2009–present)
Audio format Stereo (1989–1991), Dolby Surround (1991–2009), Dolby Digital (2009–present)
Preceded by The Simpsons shorts from The Tracey Ullman Show

About The Simpsons

This show about a working class family in the town of Springfield was the longest running American sitcom of all time as of 2017. The show was created by Matt Groening and features classic characters like Homer SimpsonBart Simpson, Mr. Burns, and Krusty the Clown.

Achievement of The Simpsons

The show won its first Emmy Award in 1990 for Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Animated Program. 

Top Facts You Did Not Know About The Simpsons

The Simpsons Category.. Television series by Klasky Csupo.. Self-reflexive television.. Television series by Gracie Films.. Television series created by Matt Groening.. Television shows set in the United States.. Fictional families.. Peabody Award-winning television programs.. Annie Award winners.

Latest information about The Simpsons updated on July 28 2021.